Homeschool World Forums     Home     Mall     Catalog     Articles     Contests     Events     Groups     Forum     Contact  
Homeschool World Forum Forum Index Homeschool World Forum
Read thousands of forum posts on topics such as homeschool law, getting started, curriculum, special needs, homeschool vs public school, and much, much more!
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Teaching credential?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Homeschool World Forum Forum Index -> Getting Started
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ardeur
User

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 10:19 am    Post subject: Teaching credential? Reply with quote

I have a BS degree in Mathematics. Do you think it would be "safer" if I got my teaching credential (I really don't want to) before I start homeschooling my children?

My mom has pressured me for years saying it would be safer, legally, if I got my credentials. She believes it would give me protection against people who'll try to "turn me in." *sigh* Maybe she's just a little paranoid. I really don't want to bother with it, and I *really* don't want to teach in a classroom, even if it were temporary.
hscoach
User

PostPosted: Wed Apr 14, 2010 11:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You already have a college degree!! You do not need anything else! I have lots of friends who homeschool their children just fine with a high school diploma only.

Tell your mom to not worry!
sartasd
User

PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2010 2:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

better yet, show her the your state's homeschool laws. and that you are meeting the requirements of your state and not to worry, homeschooling is legal and you are not breaking any laws.
elliemaejune
User

PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2010 4:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It might or might not be "safer."