How can I legally graduate early?

Find out how to handle homeschooling through high school and college prep!

Moderators: Theodore, elliemaejune

Amy
User

How can I legally graduate early?

Postby Amy » Thu Apr 20, 2006 7:24 pm

I'm 16, following North Carolina homeschool laws. I am supposed to be in 10th grade. I have finished 10th and am working on 11th. After 11th, I only have one english and one math class to finish. I pushed my graduation date back to August (two extra months) so that I can take those extra classes and graduate THIS year (two years early) I am a straight A student and do schooling every day. I also already have a diploma lined up for when I graduate.

Please help us. Any information on this subject is greatly appreciated. I am following all of the North Carolina laws that I can find, but can't find any rules on this subject.

Is this legal? What documentation do I need to have?
Thanks!

Theodore

Re: How can I legally graduate early?

Postby Theodore » Thu Apr 20, 2006 9:47 pm

If you will still be enrolled full-time at your local high school, and just want to do those last two courses at home so you can get your diploma one year earlier, then there are no legal requirements for studying at home, and you should just talk to your high school about getting credit for testing out of those courses through CLEP, AP, or DANTES, or some test supplied by your school.

If you will not be enrolled full-time at your local high school, but are not planning to drive (until age 18?), you no longer have to fulfill any legal requirements for homeschooling. You can do those courses at home, and either test out of them or keep a portfolio of work.

If you are planning to homeschool full-time, and also planning to drive, then you need to do the following to fulfill the legal requirements for homeschooling in NC:

From http://nche.com/law.html (comments in parentheses added by me):