Michigan Truancy Complaint

Find or post information on the legal aspects of homeschooling in your state.

Moderators: Theodore, elliemaejune

CMGZ
User
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Oct 11, 2007 11:05 pm
Location: Michigan

Michigan Truancy Complaint

Postby CMGZ » Fri Dec 21, 2007 8:33 am

I pulled my son out of 9th grade this year after just a couple of weeks. I just received a letter from the prosecuter that a complaint of truancy has been filed and my son will need to attend a Correct Coarse Diversion Program to avoid formal charges. I notified the school that I was going to be home schooling him and it didn't seem like an issue. Under Michigan law there are two expemptions and I'm not sure which to choose. The first one is 3a but with that you have to also claim a religious exemption if you are not a certified teacher. The state also has the right to view your records from what I understand. This is an issue because in the beginning I wasn't really keeping records. I am not using any formal cirriculum. The 2nd is 3f which seems better for me except I have read that if I choose this expemption, the public school system where I live has jurisdiction over me. If this is the case, they won't approve of me home schooling when they are losing $5,000 per year for him. I have read about HSLDA and plan on joining them however I'm not sure if they will represent me since I already received a truancy complaint. I don't have money for legal representation. Any advice or thoughts are appreciated.

User avatar
elliemaejune
User
Posts: 650
Joined: Mon Oct 30, 2006 4:37 pm
Location: The Fireswamp

Re: Michigan Truancy Complaint

Postby elliemaejune » Fri Dec 21, 2007 1:52 pm

CMGZ wrote:I pulled my son out of 9th grade this year after just a couple of weeks. I just received a letter from the prosecuter that a complaint of truancy has been filed and my son will need to attend a Correct Coarse Diversion Program to avoid formal charges. I notified the school that I was going to be home schooling him and it didn't seem like an issue. Under Michigan law there are two expemptions and I'm not sure which to choose. The first one is 3a but with that you have to also claim a religious exemption if you are not a certified teacher. The state also has the right to view your records from what I understand. This is an issue because in the beginning I wasn't really keeping records. I am not using any formal cirriculum. The 2nd is 3f which seems better for me except I have read that if I choose this expemption, the public school system where I live has jurisdiction over me. If this is the case, they won't approve of me home schooling when they are losing $5,000 per year for him. I have read about HSLDA and plan on joining them however I'm not sure if they will represent me since I already received a truancy complaint. I don't have money for legal representation. Any advice or thoughts are appreciated.


HSLDA only lists two options. Why would you not go with Option 1?

http://www.hslda.org/laws/analysis/Michigan.pdf

According to HSLDA, under option 1:

There are no requirements to notify, seek approval, test, file forms, or have any certain teacher qualifications. The burden is on the state to prove that the parents are not teaching their children.

As a cautionary comment to folks who are just thinking about hsing, especially if they will be withdrawing their dc from public schools, it is *strongly* recommended that parents have their HSLD membership in hand before they start. I know this doesn't help you now, but your story is an object lesson on why this is recommended, even in states with such good laws as Michigan's.


Return to “Homeschool Law”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest