Homeschool World Forums     Home     Mall     Catalog     Articles     Contests     Events     Groups     Forum     Contact  
Homeschool World Forum Forum Index Homeschool World Forum
Read thousands of forum posts on topics such as homeschool law, getting started, curriculum, special needs, homeschool vs public school, and much, much more!
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Drawback to Unit studies?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Homeschool World Forum Forum Index -> Homeschooling Styles and Philosophies
View previous topic :: View next topic  
WWMama
User

PostPosted: Thu Dec 06, 2007 9:51 pm    Post subject: Drawback to Unit studies? Reply with quote

I've been wondering, as I'm looking at all the different methods of homeschooling, about unti studies. I worked as a "preschool teacher" for a few years before getting married and having children and I really think that all my lesson planning as a preschool teacher really makes me lean towards unit studies as the way I want to do homeschooling. Its the way my brain works and I think it will be a good way to teach one thing and gear it to whatever level either of my kids happen to be at on whatever "subject". I'm wondering...for those of you who are currently doing this...are there any disadvantages to this approach? Have you found things that are more difficult or harder to do with this method? Or things to beware of?
momo3boys
User

PostPosted: Fri Dec 07, 2007 7:29 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

As a fellow former preschool teacher I felt the same way, the one draw back that I see is the time that it takes to plan. I now do a combination of things, some workbooks, some readings and some unit studies. I just don't have the time to plan it all for three. If you do, go ahead, it really is a wonderful way to homeschool.