Homeschool World Forums     Home     Mall     Catalog     Articles     Contests     Events     Groups     Forum     Contact  
Homeschool World Forum Forum Index Homeschool World Forum
Read thousands of forum posts on topics such as homeschool law, getting started, curriculum, special needs, homeschool vs public school, and much, much more!
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Home schooling from abroad

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Homeschool World Forum Forum Index -> Guestbook
View previous topic :: View next topic  
mariana2
User

PostPosted: Thu Feb 02, 2006 7:51 pm    Post subject: Home schooling from abroad Reply with quote

Hey everyone! I'm pretty new at this, so someone please give me a hand...
My family and I are planning to move to Croatia this June. I have a son that will be finishing kindergarten this school year here in Ohio at a parochial school and another son who is not yet 2 years old. What I would (ideally) like to do is homeschool (in English) along with sending them to the local school for them to know the language. But here is where I get confused...
1. Is there a better curriculum in one state as opposed to another, or is there an advantaged state, i.e. is Massachussettes better than Ohio's?
2. Would the "school" or state be sending me supplies and things for educating my boys, and are they willing to send abroad?
3. How does the state go about deciding whether my child[ren] have "promoted" to the next grade level?
4. Upon graduation (senior year) how do they go about with SATs, ACT, AP, & IB exams? Would they register and pay for these exams just as they would if they were schooled regularly, or do they need to have a name of a homeschool, or the name of the local [Croatian] school? And where would they take these examinations; here in the US, or in Croatia?