Homeschool World Forums     Home     Mall     Catalog     Articles     Contests     Events     Groups     Forum     Contact  
Homeschool World Forum Forum Index Homeschool World Forum
Read thousands of forum posts on topics such as homeschool law, getting started, curriculum, special needs, homeschool vs public school, and much, much more!
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Testing each year to see if we're on track

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Homeschool World Forum Forum Index -> Curriculum Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
dempstermom
User

PostPosted: Fri Mar 09, 2007 10:18 am    Post subject: Testing each year to see if we're on track Reply with quote

I'm new to homeschooling. We will be starting September of this year. My concern is that we stay on track. I will not be using a formal curricullum like Beka Books. So I'm wondering if there's a test or a way to get a guide on what our goals would be each grade at least Kindergarden to 5th grade. I have a Kindergardener and a soon to be four year old. I have plenty of resources for the four year old since I've been teaching pre-school for 5years. Our budget is very limited and I will be working the curriculum on a thematic type of study and very close to an unschooled approach. So any suggestions would be welcome.
momo3boys
User

PostPosted: Wed Mar 14, 2007 3:53 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been asking around for the same thing. I don't want to have to give them a standardized test. I want to give them a test that I can work on with him. THey have great tests for preschoolers, but after that everything is really standardized. I let you know if I find anything.
Phi 4:13 I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.
dempstermom
User