Help! Don't Know What to Do!!

Having problems figuring out where to start? Let other homeschoolers offer you some advice!

Moderators: Theodore, elliemaejune

Firmfaith
User

Help! Don't Know What to Do!!

Postby Firmfaith » Mon Dec 21, 2009 12:18 pm

gizzy
User

Postby gizzy » Tue Dec 22, 2009 8:22 pm

Well, I was homeschooled and I'm currently in my 2nd semester of college... I also help educate my younger siblings, Ages 4,6, and 8.

I have always had great grades up until highschool, when I met Algebra I....

Anyway, I suggest you site down like, RIGHT NOW and have a talk with your 2 kids. Ask them to consider homeschooling and let them look up some sites, subjects, curriculum etc. Encourage them to talk to some classmates or teachers in the NEXT grade up from them and see what they will be doing if they remain in their current school, let them evaluate the Private curriculum and thank about what they would HAVE to do vs what they would WANT to do.... (You should definitely do this also, find out where there curriculum is going).

Consider withdrawing them after the New Year, and using all that tuition money to get them a tutor to come 3-6 times a week to monitor their progress or work with them one on one. Crunch some numbers and see what it would take to enroll them in a couple of Extra Curricular activities and do you have a spouse/family/support network to help you watch the kids during the day?

You're kids are--or should be--more than capable of planning some things out and thinking seriously about their own futures. Ask them to think about where they are going and where they want to go.

Find a local homeschooling family or group and ask them for advice and if they'd be willing to help you get it set up if your kids want it.