Homeschooling science -HELP!

Having problems figuring out where to start? Let other homeschoolers offer you some advice!

Moderators: Theodore, elliemaejune

burby
User

Homeschooling science -HELP!

Postby burby » Tue Jun 16, 2009 7:19 am

Hello. :D I have been homeschooling my child for almost six months. Im aware that at this stage I shouldnt be stressing to much on what to teach or how to teach yet and just let us find our feet. Ive probably started still using a mainstream method and Im not sure if we are happy with this, so im trying to be a bit more flexible (but still organized!) What im really having trouble with is science. My child really loved science at school (it was the only time he was willing to learn there!!) but all the resources I have found online for science lesson plans mainly include loads of experiments with materials needed I simply cannot afford (or have the room for) Is there any way that I can still teach science that doesnt need mass materials for experiments, or is science about experimenting???
Any help would be gratfully appreciated :D

Lily
User

Postby Lily » Tue Jun 16, 2009 7:27 am

Science is about experimenting, at least in our house.

What are you looking for in science - new earth or secular? We've had pretty good success with Noeo's program (mostly secular). They use living books that can be mostly found at a library and offer experiment packages with everything included. It's been great for us because some easy to find items elsewhere are just nonexistent here (I'm on the hunt for posterboard for a project right now and it's so frustrating!). Having all the items right there ready to go is one of the things I like the best.