Interested in homeschooling and have a few questions. (Long)

Having problems figuring out where to start? Let other homeschoolers offer you some advice!

Moderators: Theodore, elliemaejune

mommy_2_mekhi
User

Interested in homeschooling and have a few questions. (Long)

Postby mommy_2_mekhi » Thu Mar 05, 2009 5:59 pm

Hi everyone! I am a newbie to the board and to being a homeschooling mom. I, myself, was homeschooled until my 10th grade year when I started into public high school.

I have a DS who is almost 6 and is in public Kindergarten currently. He is a very bright student and is learning rapidly. The thing is, I believe he is being held back by other students who aren't learning the material as quickly. At home, he breezes through homework and the workbooks that I have here for him to do. I feel that he isn't being challenged enough in school currently.

In the state of VA, one of the requirements is that the "teaching" parent hold a high school diploma. I have a GED. Is that still considered an acceptable diploma substitution? I have tried looking it up everywhere, and am unable to come up with an answer! It's nerve racking! :x

Also, the state requires that I give them a notice of what curriculum I will be using. I have looked into the DVD programs, but would really like to borrow ideas that I think would work best for my son from several different programs. Is this going to be accepted by the school board? Will I have to purchase a full grade program from one source, or will my idea to borrow from others be acceptable?

Thank you so much! I am sorry that I seem so naiive about the whole thing, but I just began thinking about this as a solution to his boredom in school. I enjoyed being homeschooled and found public school to be a bore and a poor substitute for what I could learn at home. Hence, the GED. I look forward to reading your opinions and advice!!

elliemaejune
User

Re: Interested in homeschooling and have a few questions. (L