thinking about home schooling but very nervous

Having problems figuring out where to start? Let other homeschoolers offer you some advice!

Moderators: Theodore, elliemaejune

ymaddox
User

thinking about home schooling but very nervous

Postby ymaddox » Wed Mar 05, 2008 4:52 pm

Hi everyone I am new to this and am very interested in the possibility of home schooling but dont know if it is right for me or my children. Today actually was the straw that broke the camels back for me...we go to school to pick up my daughters homework she has strept throat, assured it would be ready by three and go to pick it up and it's not ready not even started to be ready and everyone puts the blame on everyone else and then the counselor apparently hatefully gives my daughter worksheets kind of flipping them to her, my husband went and she went because she is two days in on antibiotics and not contagious and needed to get things from her locker she was sure her dad would miss, the doctor said she could not go back to school till thursday. Anyway my husband explained this was not the first time this had happened and he would not be leaving without her homework which immediately made him the most popular visitor of the school for the day i'm sure lol. This happens all the time and my kids are so behind in school in my honest opinion and my daughter complains all the time when she asks questions at school she is ignored or told to go sit down. This school system has been a horror from elementary school on but it multiplies by 5 in middle school on. My oldest daughter ended up dropping out because she was going to have to go two years longer and got her ged and is now in college. Her and my son have learning disabilities. My son is adhd and the college daughter has a conceptual learning diability. We have three my son is 17 and a sophmore he was held back in elementary school and failed a grade and i do fear that when he turns 18 in a few months school may become less appealing to him