Questions about opening a small homeschooling academy

Since surveys keep getting posted, here is a place to put them.

Moderators: Theodore, elliemaejune

Classical Guy
User

Questions about opening a small homeschooling academy

Postby Classical Guy » Mon Jan 26, 2009 1:55 pm

Hello ~

I am a European living in the USA, dissatisfied with the business world, where I’ve been working as a corporate trainer and writer for over 10 years. I am thinking of giving back to my community by opening a small homeschooling academy (grades 6 through 12) with a concentration on classical education, which is my forte. I’ve tutored on and off for several years, and I think I could do this (God willing) although I have still a few perplexities.

The model I have in mind is very close to the one I grew up with (in Italy), only with a smaller class size and more personalized attention. Half day format, 5 days a week, with 6 students max per class; one set of students in the morning, one in the afternoon. Subjects would be English (lit and composition), history, philosophy, logic and rhetoric, Latin, arts, sciences, geography, music and fencing.

I have already researched which curriculum I’d be teaching, and which textbooks I’d be using. There are, however, quite a few things that still puzzle me, which is where I’d really appreciate some help:

1 - Should I try to find students that are all the same age for each class period, for example, all 9th graders in the morning and all 7th graders in the afternoon? Or is there a way to get around teaching kids of different ages in the same sessions?

2 - I am thinking of teaching out of my home, since I have a spacious room with a bathroom just down the corridor that would lend itself perfectly to this. Are there any legal/liability considerations I should be aware of? Would I be better off teaching out of a library?