HELP New at homeschooling and high schooler very behind

Find out how to handle homeschooling through high school and college prep!

Moderators: Theodore, elliemaejune

Jessie
User

HELP New at homeschooling and high schooler very behind

Postby Jessie » Mon Jan 16, 2012 9:01 am

Hello, I am very new to homeschooling and will try to make this as short and to the point as possible. :) My nephew is 17 yrs old (18 this summer) and is way behind in his subjects. It is very long and horrible story that includes some health problems his mother had, and the divorce his parents had making his mother homeschooling as a single parent before her cancer came about. Anyway's my sister's health got the best of her, she thought she was getting help with her son's education, (his father) plus he wasn't working as independently as he should have been, and now it's his junior yr (or should I say the year he'd be in if he were in public school) and he is just now starting Algebra, (seems to be having a hard time with it as well) and is on an 8th grade level in Language arts, he absolutely hates writing as well, but I think mainly it's because he is behind. His reading comprehension could also be better, oh and I forgot to mention he has ADD, and depression, zero self-esteem the depression is from almost losing his mother, and the divorce of his parents, he is also an only child. My sister has no family but me and is still very ill, I am taking it upon myself to help her out, although I work part-time, this child need's more than what his parents can give him. He is just soo behind I don't have a clue as to what to do?! I work part-time so some of his studies would have to be independent (he and I have already discussed the importance in this and this time I think he is serious about catching up) I don't think that putting him back in public school would help, they would put him back to 7th or 8th grade. I am glad he is the only child I need to focus on, but I do not know where to star