Can I pull my daughter out of school BEFORE filing the Affid

Find or post information on the legal aspects of homeschooling in your state.

Moderators: Theodore, elliemaejune

Joy1213
User

Can I pull my daughter out of school BEFORE filing the Affid

Postby Joy1213 » Thu Apr 26, 2012 2:58 am

I live In the State of California. And I heard that I have to file a Private School Affidavit by October 1- 15 I believe, to home school my daughter. What if I want to pull my daughter out of public school now and start her homeschool, Do i have to wait till October to do so? And what do I tell the school while I am pulling her out. I know they are going to want to know where she is going. Can someone please help, I am new to this. Thank you all!

hscoach
User

Postby hscoach » Thu Apr 26, 2012 6:38 am

Hi,

The following information comes from the HomeSchool Association of California:

"We have asked the CDE if they agree that new schools can be formed after October 15, and, if so, when these schools should file their affidavits. The CDE told us that they believe that new private schools are allowed to be formed after October 15. They said, however, that these new schools should not file an affidavit for that school year, but should just wait until the following fall to file.