Question about Arkansas homeschooling laws

Find or post information on the legal aspects of homeschooling in your state.

Moderators: Theodore, elliemaejune

Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Sep 01, 2011 8:53 pm
Location: MO

Question about Arkansas homeschooling laws

Postby nanny2901 » Thu Sep 01, 2011 11:20 pm

I'm hoping someone can help me with a question. We live in Mo. My daughter is a single mom with 1 child our granddaughter. Our granddaughter has been homeschooled here all her life. I help my daughter teach her.

We've been thinking about moving. My son would like us to move to Arkansas. My head is spinning from trying to figure out Arkansas homeschooling laws.

MO laws are easy to understand. No testing, 1000 hours in require subjects, keep a log/diary, and we have samples of her work

Can someone tell me in simple, easy to understand language what is required for homeschooling in AR?


Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 1:57 pm
Location: Arkansas

Arkansas Homeschool law

Postby fusgeyer » Fri Sep 02, 2011 1:03 pm

Arkansas homeschool law is easy. See
you need to file a notice of intent and waiver form within 15 days of moving to Arkansas. Mandatory testing is required for grades 3 through 9. The forms are available on the website.
Lynda Altman
Homeschool parent with 13 years experience. Freelance writer and researcher.

Return to “Homeschool Law”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests