Finding out I think my child has a LD

Are you homeschool a special needs child? Are you personally physically challenged? Here is the place to share your questions, tips, and experiences.

Moderators: Theodore, elliemaejune

laurielev
User

Finding out I think my child has a LD

Postby laurielev » Tue May 05, 2009 8:22 am

We have a daughter, who in so many ways is a great young lady. She loves the Lord. She is co-captain of her high school track team, she is one of the better track athletes in the state. Because of that fact she has many colleges calling to see if she is interested in running for them. She, however stinks at taking tests. She is really bad at math. As long as you are sitting with her she can do the math, she gets it, but she does not retain it. She is a good writer, scored in the 75th %tile in reading on the ACT, but her math was very, very, low. She is also a self taught artist. She wins awards for her drawings. It really upsets me that just because of this one subject it seems as though she will be held back from everything she is good at. The "thing" is too is that she has above average abilities in reading, writing, athletics and art, and none of that seems to matter. She is also personable, you would have to be in order to be voted co-captain of your public high school team. She is a senior, and college is looking to be out of the question. Math seems to be the new "most important subject." The thing that gets me is that it is algebra and higher level math. Although I am not against learning the higher "maths", I still think that maybe business math, and real world math would be a lot more important. Obviously in our country knowing algebra and geometry has not helped us in our staying out of incredible debt. Any suggestions? She has done the required math, and has four sciences, four english, two years Italian. She teaches children with disabilities to ride horses. In short, she has much going for her, just not math. The public school around