Homeschool World Forums     Home     Mall     Catalog     Articles     Contests     Events     Groups     Forum     Contact  
Homeschool World Forum Forum Index Homeschool World Forum
Read thousands of forum posts on topics such as homeschool law, getting started, curriculum, special needs, homeschool vs public school, and much, much more!
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Homeschooling against my husband's 'better judgement'

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Homeschool World Forum Forum Index -> Getting Started
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Kadriennel
User

PostPosted: Sat Aug 19, 2006 9:54 am    Post subject: Homeschooling against my husband's 'better judgement' Reply with quote

I've been homeschooling my son (15) for two years because he was failing in school and the bullying was out of control.

Now I want to homeschool my daughter (10) also, because she is very susceptible to peer influence and I want to shape her world view.

Husband is allowing me to homeschool Rachel against his "better judgement." He worries that she will be lonely and unhappy. He says all girls her age act "that way." But she has gotten steadily better with her attitude over the summer, so I know it's influenced by who she hangs around with. There are several girls her age nearby (we live in the country) who are appropriate for her play with in the afternoons and weekends, so I don't think she'll be too lonely.