Have a child in Pre-k. Please help!

Having problems figuring out where to start? Let other homeschoolers offer you some advice!

Moderators: Theodore, elliemaejune

Have a child in Pre-k. Please help!

Postby tiarich » Fri Aug 18, 2006 10:37 am

This is my first year homeschooling my son (1st grade). Now my family is taking my daughter out of daycare because they want me to homeschool her also. She just turned 3, so it's Pre-k time. The problem is I have no clue what to teach a 3 y.o. If anyone has any suggestions PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE help me :cry: . Is there even a cirriculum out there for a Pre-K child?

Re: Have a child in Pre-k. Please help!

Postby Theodore » Fri Aug 18, 2006 1:02 pm

Check the Preschool area, there's lots of posts discussing this. Bottom line, you don't need a curriculum - just cover letters and numbers and do lots of fun, creative things. You can move directly on from there to phonics and kindergarten.

Postby Lorren » Fri Aug 18, 2006 9:57 pm

My dd learned her letters, numbers, and colors when she was 2... she learned those at home and at day care.

About 4 or 5 months after she turned 3, I bought a couple of workbooks for her. They were preschool type workbooks that I got at Costco. One book started off with letter writing practice and moved into basic phonics, another book was readiness type activities like dot-to-dots, opposites, sequencing, etc.

We've been doing those workbooks ever since, two pages a day on non-Kindercare days. She likes doing them (not all children will). It's amazing the stuff she has picked up from these books, and she has fun doing it.

I think I might have spent $20 for the whole package of workbooks (the two main workbooks were over 300 pages each), and we're still using them... although we're moving on to a regular curriculum next week, so I guess I'll schedule the workbook pages when there's not much else going on or let her do some of the pages independently for fun.