Homeschool World Forums     Home     Mall     Catalog     Articles     Contests     Events     Groups     Forum     Contact  
Homeschool World Forum Forum Index Homeschool World Forum
Read thousands of forum posts on topics such as homeschool law, getting started, curriculum, special needs, homeschool vs public school, and much, much more!
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Just started homeschool

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Homeschool World Forum Forum Index -> Guestbook
View previous topic :: View next topic  
judygray842
User

PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 7:06 pm    Post subject: Just started homeschool Reply with quote

Hi, I'm new here. I've been homeschooling for a couple months now. I'm just trying all different curriculums. We're using lifepacs at the moment, and getting ready to buy math u see. And a little bit of A Beka. This is really hard. My 7 year old little boy is so far behind, I don't know where to begin. The school system has totally failed him. My goal is to have him on a beginning 3rd grade level by fall 2007. He can't even read small 3 letter words. He has adhd, but that really shouldn't excuse letting him get so far behind. I'm in a race to catch him up, and I keep buying the wrong thing. I'm not the homeschool type. I have no idea what I'm doing. He's actually a very smart boy. He scores really high on the cognitive testing. He just learns differently. Advice is always welcome.
Theodore

PostPosted: Sat Jun 03, 2006 8:57 pm    Post subject: Re: Just started homeschool Reply with quote