Homeschool World Forums     Home     Mall     Catalog     Articles     Contests     Events     Groups     Forum     Contact  
Homeschool World Forum Forum Index Homeschool World Forum
Read thousands of forum posts on topics such as homeschool law, getting started, curriculum, special needs, homeschool vs public school, and much, much more!
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Pulling kids out of public school to homeschool

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Homeschool World Forum Forum Index -> Getting Started
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Conservativemama
User

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 6:10 am    Post subject: Pulling kids out of public school to homeschool Reply with quote

I am extremely new to this. I am just getting started on researching homeschooling. My daughter will be starting 3rd Grade next year, and my son is starting Kindergarten. There have been no problems with our school - I am thinking about the future. I am deeply concerned that pulling my daughter out of school will be traumatic for her. She is doing great, but at times has stated she would love to be homeschooled. (I have a friend who homeschools and does a SPECTACULAR job.) Does anyone out there have any advice on pulling a child out of public school to homeschool or do you know of any websites that might help me with this decision?
4given
User

PostPosted: Wed May 20, 2009 7:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

In my state, homeschools are considered private schools. I sent a letter to the PS, requesting a copy of my sons' school records and stating that they would not be returning as they would be enrolled in private school. They did not inquire further and I did not offer up any greater detail.

What you do will depend upon the laws in your state.
mschickie
User