Good Art curriculum?

The arts are sometimes overlooked, but they're a valuable part of culture and history.

Moderators: Theodore, elliemaejune

Calla_Dragon
User

Good Art curriculum?

Postby Calla_Dragon » Tue May 15, 2007 9:30 am

Anyone have any recommendations for a good art curriculum? We already do crafts, but I'm looking for something that goes over artistic concepts - line types, color, style, whatever other artistic concepts there are (I'm not an artist....). I'm using Kindergarten Art now and not thrilled with it.

Thanks in advance!
To be idle is a short road to death and to be diligent is a way of life; foolish people are idle, wise people are diligent.

keptwoman
User

Postby keptwoman » Tue May 15, 2007 5:41 pm

We have just started using Artistic Pursuits, it is on loan from a friend who used it very successfully with her kids, and so far it looks really good and DS is enjoying it.

www.artisticpursuits.com
Sandra, Homeschooling Mum in Australia

Violet
User

Postby Violet » Thu Jul 19, 2007 1:22 pm

How Great Thou Art also comes with many glowing recommendations. I'm going to be using that in our K year coming up in Sept.
Wife of my best friend, Mom to two precious preschoolers, one precious newborn and one precious memory
~I will behave myself wisely in a perfect way...I will walk in my house with a perfect heart. Ps. 101:2~

Ramona
User

Re: Good Art curriculum?

Postby Ramona » Thu Jul 19, 2007 5:04 pm

I like Charlotte Mason's approach to art quite well.

I bought a book called Drawing for Older Children & Teens: A Creative Method for Adult Beginners, Too by Mona Brookes. She also wrote one called Drawing with Children. I think her approach is really good.

Ramona

Calla_Dragon
User

Postby Calla_Dragon » Thu Jul 19, 2007 6:26 pm

To be idle is a short road to death and to be diligent is a way of life; foolish people are idle, wise people are diligent.

kathy sullivan
User

artist and art therapy