Journalist interested in homeschool stories for publication

Share everyday things like field trips, homeschooling experiences, or just anything that doesn't seem to belong elsewhere!

Moderators: Theodore, elliemaejune

dustin
User

Journalist interested in homeschool stories for publication

Postby dustin » Tue May 20, 2008 8:20 pm

Hello all,

Thanks for taking a moment to read a request from a forum newbie. :) I’ll try to keep it brief. Also, please excuse me if I’ve posted to the wrong forum and the moderators can feel free to move my post if there is another spot that is more appropriate.

I am a former homeschool student and a freelance journalist currently attending the University of Texas at Austin. I received my high school diploma from the American School of Correspondence in 2001.

The reason for my post is that I am beginning work on a freelance story about the lives of homeschoolers and their families. In addition to covering some of my own experiences with homeschooling, I am interested in speaking with any homeschoolers and parents who wish to share their stories. In particular, I am interested in two groups:

1.) Students and parents who have just began homeschooling, with an emphasis on what went into the decision to homeschool and how that decision was made, and

2.) Those who have been homeschooling for a long period of time or have already completed the process

I’d like to stress that, as a former homeschool student, I intend to give a fair and balanced portrayal of the homeschool experience that is free of any bias or agenda. Homeschooling had both positive and negative effects on me, and in general I find it to be a complicated subject in need of careful examination. To that end, I hope to hear from a broad range of homeschoolers and parents in order to paint an honest picture of what it’s like to be homeschooled.