Homeschooling for the first time in the 9th grade...

Want to contribute your views on the homeschool vs public school debate, or just looking for information? Post here!

Moderators: Theodore, elliemaejune

Quakeproof
User

Homeschooling for the first time in the 9th grade...

Postby Quakeproof » Mon May 29, 2006 9:16 am

I am still debating about whether or not to homeschool my daughter next year in the 9th grade. I have to work because I am a single mom, so my parents would do most of the work. I am a teacher so I would plan her curriculum and lessons.

First of all, I am afraid of the repercussions I might have from the school system I that I am employed by.

Secondly, she does not want to home school.

The reason I am thinking about it is because I believe she is being affected by her peers regarding attitude and behavior. I feel like I am slowly losing her to rebellion.

Has anyone got any experience with beginning homeschooling this late in the game for the first time, and if so, how did it work out. Did your child's attitude improve or worsen?

Theodore

Re: Homeschooling for the first time in the 9th grade...

Postby Theodore » Mon May 29, 2006 6:12 pm

You are not the first public school teacher to homeschool her own children. The PTA might not love you quite as much if you homeschool, but you won't get fired or anything like that. If you let me know what state you're in, I can give you some links that will tell you how friendly your state is towards homeschooling.