Need some help with research...

Want to contribute your views on the homeschool vs public school debate, or just looking for information? Post here!

Moderators: Theodore, elliemaejune

Gabrielle
User

Need some help with research...

Postby Gabrielle » Fri Feb 17, 2006 8:25 pm

Hello! :D
I'm a college freshman taking English Comp 2, and I need to write a convincing essay arguing "the other side" - the arguments against homeschooling. Having been homeschooled 10 out of 11 years of my "official" education, I'm much more familiar with pro homeschool arguments, and am having trouble finding any credible arguments against it. Can anyone point me in the direction of some well thought-out arguments against homeschool? Or even just some opinions of what those who are unfarmiliar with homeshooling commonly believe about it? From what I've been able to find the three biggest arguments seem to be socialization, academic achievement, and potential for child abuse... but these arguments might be outdated. Any help "seeing the other side" would be greatly appreciated :wink: Thanks!
~Gabrielle

If you always reach for the stars, the sky is no longer the limit.

Theodore

You could read the thread in this area titled...

Postby Theodore » Sat Feb 18, 2006 3:06 am

Well, you could read the thread in this area titled "Why I am against Homeschooling". I would personally debate that there's nothing wrong with homeschool socialization, but if socialization means being thrown together with as many random people as possible, rather than having meaningful interactions with a somewhat lesser number, then homeschooling is definitely deficient.

This is really the only issue muddied enough to be argued from both sides. Any other objection to homeschooling is immediately laughable.

Gabrielle
User

Postby Gabrielle » Sat Feb 18, 2006 8:56 am